Green Energy Act – Open Letter

To the leaders of the Liberal, Progressive Conservative, NDP and Green Parties of Ontario

 

Ontario is at an important juncture as we head into a provincial election this October.

 

With the Green Energy Act and feed-in-tariff program, Ontario is well positioned to being a seller in the world’s fastest growing market. This is an enviable position that we can ill-afford to jeopardize. While the Act can always be improved with appropriate modifications, the support it provides in seeding the Ontario renewable energy industry is invaluable.

 

Since its inception just two years ago, the Act has generated billions of dollars in new investment in this province both from Ontario and around the world. Approximately 30 companies will set up or expand operations in Ontario, 13,000 clean tech jobs have been created, with tens of thousands projected to come within a few years, thousands of construction and trades workers are benefiting and thousands of applications have been offered to date.

 

Any threat to undermine the mechanism that has prompted this growth and diversification creates investment uncertainty and undermines confidence in our economy. Most importantly, the financial institutions that will underwrite these investments need long-term certainty in order to build the capacity to deliver the financial services required by these projects. To that end, it is also imperative to honour all existing contractual obligations.

 

As leaders of your parties, we encourage you to continue guiding Ontario towards these opportunities through sustained clean energy policy. Provincial investment in securing long term growth in clean technology is relatively small when taking into account the ensuing wide-scale economic growth, long-term energy security and greenhouse gas mitigation.

 

Ontario is considered a new world leader in the transition to the clean energy economy due to the Green Energy Act and feed-in-tariff program. Any decision to undermine this exciting development will come at great cost to our province in the years to come.

 

Thank you for considering our input at this pivotal point in Ontario’s history.
 

Sincerely,
 

We the Undersigned

A&T Energy, Johanne Baril, President, www.lachanceconstruction.ca

Adam Chow Web & Graphic Design, Adam Chow, Web & Graphic Designer, www.adamchow.ca

Adelaide Solar Energy Inc., www.adelaidesolar.ca

AEI Canada, Inc., Marty Fleet, Sales & Business Development Manager, Canada, www.advanced-energy.com/solarenergy

AGT Solar, Graham Smith, Executive Vice President, www.agt.com

Anemos Energy Corporation, Rob Parsons, President, www.anemosenergy.com

Arcadian Projects Inc., James Neeb & Luke Shantz, Co-founders, www.arcadianprojects.ca

Aspyre Human Resources, Matthew Simon, President, www.simon-hr.com

AVACOS Clean Energy Corporation,Steven Costa, Executive Director, www.avacos.ca

AVCMEDIA, Trifon Haitas, Documentarian, www.avcmedia.ca

Blackline Power, www.blacklinepower.com

Blackstone Energy Solutions, Inc., Bruce Chandler, Principal, www.blackstoneenergysolutions.com

Cambridge Environmental Products Inc., Diane Neve, Operations Manager, www.cambridgeenviro.com

Canadian Solar Solutions Inc, Milfred Hammerbacher, President, www.canadian-solar.ca

Capstone Infrastructure Corporation, Michael Bernstein, President and  CEO, www.capstoneinfrastructure.com

Carbon Free Technology Inc., David Oxtoby, CEO, www.carbonfreetechnology.com

Centrosolar Canada Inc., Robert Waddell, General Manager, www.centrosolarcanada.com

Circle Media, Angela Wood, President, www.circlemedia.ca

Cleave Energy, David Cleave, President; & Robert Christie, VP, cleave-energy.com

Community Renewable Energy Waterloo (CREW), Glen Woolner, Board member, www.crewzone.ca

CY-OP Inc., Peter Murray, President, www.cy-op.com

Davin Corporation, Elyse Cleave, Vice President, www.myrenovators.com

DC:Dickson Consulting, John Dickson, Founder, SeniorConsultant, www.dicksonconsulting.ca

DMF Technology Applications, Doug Fyfe, Owner, www.mi-group.ca

EcoGen Energy Inc, Chris Weissflog, President; & Annede Gobeo, Partner, www.ecogenenergy.ca

EcoGeneration Services, Faizal Karmali, Director, www.ecogeneration.ca

Endeavour Centre for Innovative Learning, Building and Living, Chris Magwood, Director, www.endeavourcentre.com

Enercontrol Technologies, Bill Prout, President, www.Enercontroltech.com

Energent, Craig Haney, Director of Marketing, www.energent.com

Energy Profiles Limited, Michael McGee, Managing Director, www.energyprofiles.com

Energy Recycling Concepts, www.enercyco.com

EnerMin Solutions, Neil Kromhout, President, www.enerrminsolutions.com

Enfinity Canada, Chris Young, Managing Director, www.Enfinity.ca

Enviro-Energy Technologies Inc, Jaymie Houle, Photovoltaic Technician; & Steve Eng, Energy Engineer, www.enviro-energytech.com

Estill Energy Inc., www.estillenergy.com

Ethosolar, Sean Hammond, Director of Business Operations; & Jeremy DeSota, Director, www.ethosolar.com

EverEnergy, Carole Charbonneau, President, www.everenergy.ca

Farm Energy Inc, Chris Meier, President, www.farmenergyinc.ca.

Foghorn Renewable Energy Inc., Ariel Bautista, CEO, www.foghorn.ca

Fountain Communications, Norah Fountain, Communications Specialist, www.norahfountain.com

Fraser & Company, Marion Fraser, President, www.strategicinsights.ca

Free Breeze Energy Systems Ltd., John Hogg, President, www.freebreeze.com

Future Acceptance Corporation, Peter Duffus, Managing Partner, www.futureacceptance.ca

Generation Seven Consulting, www.generationseven.com

Generation Solar Renewable Energy Systems Inc., Jean-Pierre Pawliw, Vice-President, www.generationsolar.com

GlobeScan Incorporated, Doug Miller, Chairman, www.globeScan.com

Go Solar Canada, Dan Holtl, Partner, http://gosolarcanada.ca

GranVal Construction Inc., Bill Smith, President, www.granval.ca

Green & Clean Energy Co. Ltd., Mark McNally, Vice-President, http://greennclean.ca/

Green Pathways, Todd Smith, President, www.greenpathways.ca

INConsulting, www.incon.com

Kinghaven Energy Consultants Ltd., Jay Willmot, President, www.kinghavenenergy.ca

Koenig & Consultants Inc., Dr. Christine Koenig, President, Managing Partner, & Dr. Ingo Koenig, Managing Partner, www.koenigconsultants.ca

LDK Solar Co. Ltd., Lihui Guo, Vice President, www.ldksolar.com

LIFE co-op, Rob Yost, Vice president, www.lifecoop.ca

Local Content Assurance Bureau, Etienne Lecompte, Managing Director, www.lcab.ca

MacKinnon, Bennett & Co., Kenneth MacKinnon, President, www.mkbandco.com

McGhee-Krizsan Engineering Limited, Karen McGhee, President, www.m-k-e.ca

Merlyn Power, Scott Cooper, Principal, www.merlynpower.ca

Mike Witherell Mechanical Ltd., Mike Witherell, President, www.SmartEnergyCanada.ca

Mindscape Innovations, Derek Satnik, Managing Director; & Kyle Anders, Sustainable Design Specialist, www.mi-group.ca/

MLH Productions, canadadaPHOTOGRAPHY.blogspot.com

Moore Partners, Susan Moore, President, www.moorepartners.ca

Morgan Solar Inc., Emma Hemmingsen, Communications Manager, www.morgansolar.com

N//ERGY Solutions Inc., Bruce Rolston, President, www.nergy.ca

Northland Power, John Brace, President and CEO; Paul Bradley, CFO; & Sam Mantenuto, COO, www.northlandpower.ca

One Box Power, Antonio Nucaro, Owner, www.oneboxpower.com

Ontario Solar Network, Jacob Travis, President, www.solarnetwork.org

Ontario Sustainable Energy Association, Kristopher Stevens, Executive Director, www.ontario-sea.org

Ontario Windsmith Inc, Anton Schoenberger, President, www.ontariowindsmith.com

Ottawa Renewable Energy Cooperative Inc., www.ottawarenewableenrgycoop.ca

Ottawa Solar Power, Michael McGahern, President, www.ottawasolarpower.com

OYA Solar Inc., Manish Nayar, Managing Parnter, www.oyasolar.ca

Pearl Street Communications, Curt Hammond, Chief Listening Officer, www.pearlstreet.ca

Perfection Inspection Limited, www.perfectioninspection.com

Pine River Solar Inc., Jeremy Nussbaumer, Manager/Project Coordinator, www.pineriversolar.ca

Port Picton Homes, Nancy Cleave, President, www.portpictonhomes.com

Power of the Sun2 Solar, Joan Heath, President, www.powerofthesun2solar.com

Power One Solar Solutions Inc., Michael Bourdeau, VP of Operations, www.power1solar.com

Praxis Dialectic, Milan Seres, Managing Director, www.praxisdialectic.com

Precept Benchmark Consulting Inc., Stephen Bieda, Chief Green Officer, www.pbconsultinginc.com

Prowind Canada Inc., Catherine Weston, President, www.prowind.ca

Pure Solar, Syd Healey, Owner, www.puresolar.ca

Quantum Renewable Energy, Rick Rooney, President, www.quantumenergy.ca

Radical Energy Inc, Ryan Dick, President, www.radicalenergy.ca

Radicle Consulting, Shane Mulligan, Principal, www.radicleconsulting.ca

RB & W Corp., Colton M. Young, Junior Energy Consultant, www.rbwmfg.com/profile.html

ReGenerate Biogas Inc., Daniel Bida, President, www.regeneratebiogas.com

Restoration Gardens Inc., Leslie Doyle, Owner, www.restorationgardens.ca

S.A.T. Solar & Alternative Technology, Remo Bonewitz, General Manager, www.alternativetechnology.ca

Satcon Technology Corporation, Todd Nguyen, Regional Sales Manager, www.satcon.com

Schuco Canada, Dennis McIntyre, Director of Sales Canada, www.Schuco.ca

Silfab Ontario Inc., Paolo Maccario, General Manager and COO, www.silfab.ca

Siliken Canada Corporation, Paco Caudet, General Manager, www.siliken.com

Sky Fire Energy, www.skyfireenergy.com

SkyPower Limited, Kerry Adler, President and CEO, www.skypower.com

SLK Solar Corporation, Marc Clark, General Manager, www.slksolar.com

Solar Cities Initiative, Graham Fowler, manager, www.solarnetwork.org

Solar Share, www.solarbonds.ca

Solart Group, www.solartgroup.com

Solcan, Bob Swartman, CEO, www.solcan.ca

Solexica Solar Development Corp., Adam Perrin, CTO, www.solexica.com

Solrcon Green Energy Systems, David Kalbarski, DirectorofOperations, www.solrcon.com

Solsmart Energy Solutions Inc., Andrew McCormack, Business Development Manager; & John Caruso, Project Manager, www.solsmart.com

Sovello Canada Inc., Jan Dressel, President & CEO, www.sovello.ca

Steenhof Building Services Group, Jack Steenhof, M.A.Sc., P.Eng., President, www.steenhofbuilding.com

Step Change Communications, Jane Dalziel, Principal, www.stepchange.ca

Sun Bee.ca-Solar Energy Experts, Yana Kultysheva, Operations Manager, www.sunbee.ca

Supan Solar Solutions Inc., Dr. Raye Thomas, Vice President and COO, www.supantech.com

TECO Natural Resource Group, Andrew Moores, Manager, BusinessDevelopment, www.tecogroup.ca

The East Asia Company, operating as the Third World Bazaar, Peggy and Dick Bakker, Owners, www.ThirdWorldBazaar.ca

Trent Metals Limited, William Edmanson, President, www.trentmetals.com

Trillium Point Group Inc., Bill Hale, President

twigenergy inc., Kathrin Ohle, Principal, www.twigenergy.com

Urbangreenjobs.ca, David Miller, President, www.urbangreenjobs.ca

VCi GreenFunds, Tom Rand, Managing Director, www.vcigreenfunds.com

Vigor Clean Tech Inc., Dale Brubacher-Cressman, President, www.vigorcleantech.com

William L. Shore, William L. Shore, President

Wind Simplicity Inc, Sharolyn Vettese, Wind Simplicity CEO, www.windsimplicity.ca

Windsor Personnel, Kevin Deziel, Account Manager, www.windsorpersonnel.com

Yield Energy Inc., Tom Ferencevic, Chief Technology Officer, www.yieldenergy.com

Zephyr North Ltd., Dr. Jim Salmon, President, www.ZephyrNorth.com

 

 

Other Supporters

 

Post Carbon Toronto, Kathryn Tait, Vice Chair, www.postcarbontoronto.org

Reduce the Juice, a Project of Tides Canada Initiatives, Sara Wicks, Director, www.reducethejuice.ca

Transition Toronto, Andrew Knox, Founder, http://transitiontoronto.ning.com

University of Ottawa SUN Lab, Joan Haysom, Manager-SolarProjects, sunlab.site.uottawa.ca/